A story told in musical stream of consciousness…

Vistas

  Vistas by lifetrackedinsound

This is an instrument from Kenya, I believe it is called a Cora. A good friend of mine gave it to me as a gift a couple years ago. I’ve been wanting to try to do something with it ever since, and here is my first attempt. It has 5 strings, and is set up sort of like a harp, so that each string can only play one note. I’m not sure how the strings are supposed to be tuned, so I just tuned it to sound interesting to me.

Since I only had 5 notes to work with, I tried to vary things by playing different rhythmic motifs. I think the rhythms clash/come together in very interesting ways, and create some beautiful textures. There are 6 different parts. Each one improvised. Kind of stealing the idea from one of my previous tracks, Lightwire Shadows. Except here I am much more limited than I would be on guitar.

I think the key here is to listen and wait to hear how the different pieces come together, clash, and evolve throughout the piece.

2 responses

  1. Scott Jones

    Really captivating, man. Took me far awayyyyyyyyyy. Love the ancient trance quality of it.

    2010/04/15 at 8:50 am

  2. Joyce

    YES. This sounds amazing! I love the whole soundscape of it. It sounds a little like when windchimes are blowing, since they have that same limitation, except this has much more deliberateness and strength. It was great.

    I bought it in this sea town called Mombasa, so I honestly don’t know what it’s called. Initially, I thought it was a nyatiti, but apparently, that’s something completely different. I’m going to have to go with your guess that it’s a cora. I was just looking for something small enough that I could trek it the 8 hours back to Nairobi.

    2010/04/15 at 8:52 pm

Leave a Reply

